Jiri to Everest Base Camp Trekking

Jiri to Everest Base Camp Trekking! Classic Everest Base Camp Trek

The 21-day trek from Jiri to the Everest Base Camp is one of the most popular classic treks available and follows the route taken by Sir Edmund Hillary on his ascent of Everest. The spectacular scenery of the landscape and the Himalayan ranges are the highlights of this trek. The lower part of this trek is called Solu region while the upper section is regarded as Khumbu region. The Khumbu region is bounded by the Sagarmatha National Park a the World Heritage Site.Sagarmatha (mother of the Universe) is the Nepalese name for Mt. Everest. Sherpas, the famous climbers are the dwellers of Khumbu region. The flora and fauna are other jewels of the Sagarmatha National Park, and the story of the Yeti is still a mystery to the rest of the world.

Jiri to Everest base Camp TrekkingThose who wish to follow in the footsteps of Tenzing and Hillary must do the Everest trek from Jiri. This is a much longer trek compared to the one that starts from Lukla. Jiri, an idyllic hill station east of Kathmandu is reached by local bus from the capital in 8-10 hours. 

The trek from Jiri to Lukla takes an average of seven days and is a good means of preparing for the Everest Base Camp trek. The highest elevation reached before Lukla is Lamjura pass (3,530 m). The trek passes through parts of Solukhumbu district that enables trekkers to observe the traditions and customs of the Himalayan region. The trail is well served with good teahouses and campsites. The stopovers along the trail are likely to be at the villages of Deurali, Kenja, Sete, Lamjura, Junbesi, Tragsindho, Khari Khola and Surkhe.


Day 01: Drive to Jiri Form Kathmandu.
Day 02: Trek to Bandar (2200M).
Day 03: Trek to Sete (2600m).
Day 04: Trek over Lamjura Pass (3530m) (a tough hiking day).
Day 05: Trek to Nunthala.
Day 06: Trek to Kharate.
Day 07: Trek to Surkhe.
Day 08: Trek to Phakding (2700 m).
Day 09: Trek to Namche(3450m).
Day 10: Acclimatisation day with optional hikes .
Day 11: Trek to Khunde-Khumjung.
Day 12: Trek to Tengboche (3880m).
Day 13: Trek to Dingboche (4700m).
Day 14: Trek to Chukung.
Day 15: Trek to Lobuche (4930m).
Day 16: Trek to Kala Pattar (5545M)(Everest view point) return Gorakshep.
Day 17: Trek to Phortse.
Day 18: Trek to Namche (3450m).
Day 19: Trek to Lukla (2600M).
Day 20: Early morning flight to Kathmandu & transfer to Hotel.
Day 21: Departure for your onward destination